OLIS allows patients to block access to some or all of their lab information, which may prevent you from viewing their lab reports.
When a lab report is blocked and you perform an OLIS patient query, a red warning message appears below the patient information in the preview window. This message indicates that not all results have been returned.
If you are a named recipient (ordering practitioner, copied to practitioner, admitting practitioner, or attending practitioner) on the lab report, implicit consent is given and the lab reports are available.
In special cases with consent from the patient (or the patient’s substitute decision-maker) you can override the patient consent directive that restricted access to the lab report.
Such an override is logged in the CHR system. In addition, OLIS logs all accesses to its data, and an audit of this information can be requested by the patient.
Under Perform Consent Override, select Patient or Substitute decision maker as the Type of override.
If you select Substitute decision maker, must also record the first and last name of the person and their relationship to the patient in the corresponding fields.
Click Submit Override Consent.
A new query is sent to the OLIS system. Lab reports for the patient are displayed in the preview window and all test requests previously blocked are marked with a red message indicating Do not disclose without express patient consent.
⚠️ Important: When you override restricted results, they are available for 4 hours. Any subsequent queries within that timeframe do not require another explicit override.
Updated June 2, 2022