You can send a secure text-based chat message to a patient before or during a virtual visit. This is a great way to let the patient know the provider is running a few minutes behind, or to let the patient know you cannot hear them.

Steps

1. Open the patient's chart to view the Pathway.

2. Click the Chat tab and type your message.

3. Press Return {Enter} or click the arrow to send the message to the patient.

📌 Note: You can send a chat message even if the patient hasn't signed into the visit yet; they will see the message once they do.

💡 Tip: The chat also shows if any tasks were assigned and if they are completed. If you ask a patient to upload a file or photo, you can access it from within the chat.

The patient will see their assigned tasks in the chat and a red dot will appear next to the Tasks tab.

💡 Tip: the chat history is saved to the patient's chart. You can access it by selecting Start/Open > Pathway History.

Updated July 4, 2022

Did this answer your question?