The TELUS Collaborative Health Record (CHR) has a number of security settings. Some are controlled by you and apply only to your user account. Others are account-wide security settings that apply to all clinic users (see Account-wide security settings).

All CHR users can:

📌 Note: You can modify these settings, or someone with Edit other user permissions can do it on your behalf.

You can change a user's password and unlock the user's account in the case that they are locked out of their CHR account. This usually happens when they have exceeded the login attempt threshold which is an account-wide security setting.

Steps

  1. To modify your own security settings, go to Settings > Security > User.
    📌 Note: Alternatively, at the top of the main menu, click your avatar image > Security.

  2. If you are modifying another user's settings, go to Settings > Account.
    ⚠️ Important: Do not modify your own security settings from Settings > Account.

    The User Management window opens.
    a. From the User List, scroll down to the user you want to modify security settings for, and click Edit.

    b. Select the Security Tab.

  3. The following security settings can be modified:

Item

Description

Two Factor Authentication

Select None if you want to disable 2FA.

This is useful if a user misplaces their mobile device or cannot access their emails, and you need to temporarily disable two-factor authentication.

Select Email, SMS, or Authentication App (the method used to the send the 2FA code to a user).

For more details on how to set this up, see Enabling two-factor authentication for your CHR account.

📌 Note: If you are modifying the settings on behalf of another user, you do not have the Authentication App option. If you select SMS, the user must first register their number in their security settings.

💡 Tip: We recommend all user accounts have two-factor authentication enabled.

Using an authentication app is the most reliable.

Timeout Duration

You are automatically logged out of your account after a period of inactivity. This prevents others from working under your username (especially when using a shared workspace).

From the list, select the amount of time before you or the user is logged off due to inactivity, and click Save.

📌 Note: We recommend keeping the timeout duration at the default of 15 minutes.

Change Password

See Changing your password.

💡 Tip: For improved security, we recommend you change your password regularly.

Unlocking an user account

📌 Note: This applies if you are modifying another user's settings.

See Unlocking a user's account.

6. Click Submit to save changes.

An authentication window appears.

7. Enter your account password in the Current Password field and click Submit.

Created September 15, 2021

Did this answer your question?