If the same patient was added more than once, you can merge the duplicate patient charts into one. Start with the main patient chart whose demographics you want to keep (typically the one that has the most up-to-date demographics). All data (appointments, encounter notes, letters, medications, allergies, Qnaires, and so on) in the duplicate patient chart is merged into the main patient chart and the duplicate chart is archived.

⚠️ Important: Merging patient charts cannot be undone. We recommend merging patient charts when no one is using the system to prevent data loss.

To merge charts, you must have the Merge Patients permission.

Steps

1. From the standard view of the main patient chart, click Update Information.

2. In the Update Patient window, click the Merge Patient tab.

💡 Tip: If you do not see this tab, request access from your CHR administrator.

3. Search for the duplicate patient and select it from the list.

4. Click Save. A confirmation window appears. The identification number of both patients being merged are displayed for you to verify one last time that it is the same patient.

5. Click Okay.

Updated June 17, 2021

Did this answer your question?