When booking an appointment, you are prompted to send a notification to the patient. By default, the notification will be sent via the patient's preferred method, as set in their demographics (see Adding a patient for more information). You can change the method of sending and the text of the notification before sending it, and these changes apply to that notification only. You can also change the notification settings for the individual appointment, and these settings are remembered for any future changes you make to the appointment that would trigger a notification.

Steps to change the notification immediately before sending

After booking the appointment, in the Confirm Notifications window, the patient's preferred notification method is indicated and already selected.

1. Select a different or additional method of notification.

2. To customize the text of the notification, click the gear icon beside the notification method (email and/or SMS).

Any changes you make apply to this instance of the notification only. Future notifications will use the default settings (unless they are changed for the appointment itself; see below).

Steps to change the notification for the appointment

1. In the appointment booking window, select the Notification tab (icon that looks like a paper airplane). The Notification Method defaults to Patient Preference. You can change this to Both, SMS, Email, or None. Whatever you select here will override the patient preference for this appointment only.

If you select Both, SMS, or Email, you must enter the email address and/or cell phone number; it does not use the patient's information from demographics. This is useful if the appointment reminder should go to someone other than the patient - for example, if the appointment is for a patient who is not comfortable with technology and the reminder should go to a family member instead.

📌 Note: if you select Both, SMS, or Email and do not enter the email address and/or cell phone number, you must do so at the time of sending the notification. And any automatically generated notifications will fail to send.

2. Click Save to save the notification changes. These changes apply for any future notifications sent for this appointment.

Updated May 7, 2021

Did this answer your question?