๐ŸŽž๏ธ View video tutorial: Deleting and cancelling prescriptions

If you create a prescription in error (for example, in the wrong patientโ€™s record), or you add a prescription during an encounter and then decide it is not needed, you can delete the prescription as long as it hasn't been signed. (If the prescription has already been signed, see Cancelling signed prescriptions).

You can delete the prescription from the Prescriptions area of an encounter, from the prescription dialog, or from a patient's list of Prescriptions.

Steps

1. Click the trash can icon to delete the prescription:

  • In the Prescriptions area of an encounter.

๐Ÿ“Œ Note: if there is more than one medication on the prescription, they are all deleted. If you want to delete a single medication, select the prescription to open the prescription dialog and delete the medication from there.

  • In the Prescription Dialog.

  • In the list of a patient's prescriptions (Start/Open > Prescriptions).

๐Ÿ“Œ Note: if there is more than one medication on the prescription, they are all deleted. If you want to delete a single medication, select the prescription to open the prescription dialog and delete the medication from there.

2. Click Okay to confirm you want to delete the prescription.

Updated September 20, 2021

Did this answer your question?