If a patient requests that you to keep their medical records confidential from all or some of your clinic members, you can specify who can access the patient's chart. By default, patient charts are visible to all users.

In an emergency, a restricted user who has permission to view patient charts can still view private charts, but they must state the reason for the override This entry is saved in the patient's chart, with a red icon within the Recent Activity section, making it easy to see from the patient dashboard if someone broke the glass (see Reviewing recent activity).

Recent Activity section with red icon.

Users who do not have permission to view patient charts cannot break the glass, even in an emergency situation.

Steps

1. Open the patient chart.

2. At the top of the chart, click the Dashboard icon.

patient dashboard button highlighted at top right of chart

3. Click Update Information.

4. In the Update Patient window, click the Accessibility tab.

5. Select the user(s) who can access the chart and click Save.

If a user does not have access to a patient chart and attempts to access it, the following message appears.

Updated June 18, 2021

Did this answer your question?