Diagnosis codes

Billing Settings, Custom Codes, Insured Billing, Diagnostic Codes

Updated this week

The Collaborative Health Record (CHR) has provincial lists of ICD-9 diagnosis codes. TELUS Health manages these lists for you and any updates to these lists are automatically added by our team.

You can select a default list that is used for your entire clinic. Most of the list descriptions are maintained by the government agency (the lists starting with ICD-9). TELUS Health also provides a modified list with updated descriptions in AB Diagnostic List, BC Diagnostic List and ON Diagnostic List.

Steps to select a default ICD-9 list

  1. From the main menu, click Settings > Templates.

  2. If not selected already, click the Encounter tab.

  3. Under Default Diagnosis Template, click the Choose One field and select the ICD-9 list you want to use for the entire clinic.

If you have frequent ICD-9 codes you like to use for billing, you can mark them as favourites.

Steps for marking ICD-9 codes as favourites

  1. From the open claim window, search for a code you want to add to your favourite list.

  2. Click the star icon next to the code; it turns yellow.

    The code is marked as a favourite and will be at the top whenever you search.

💡 Tip: The diagnostic codes that you add in your encounter note can be automatically added to any bills you create within that encounter, refer to Syncing diagnosis codes.

Updated September 26, 2023

Did this answer your question?