If you create a bill by mistake or receive payment for a bill in error, you can delete the bill.

As long as the bill has not been submitted to the province (AHCIP), i.e. its status is Draft or Ready to Send, or the bill is invalid, you can delete the bill altogether.

As soon as a bill is submitted, you can no longer delete it. You must wait for the bill be to be processed by AHCIP.

  • If AHCIP refuses the claim, you can edit and resubmit the claim (see Managing refused or invalid bills), or you can manually change the bill's status to Cancelled or Completed, depending on your clinic’s workflow.

  • If the bill was paid, partially paid or paid at zero, you must submit a Delete claim.

Steps

  1. Open the patient's chart

    💡 Tip: To open the patient's chart from the bill, beside the patient's name, click the patient icon.

  2. In the chart header, click Start/Open > Insured Billing. A list of insured bills created for this patient displays.

  3. To delete an unsubmitted bill (draft, ready to submit or invalid):

    1. Beside the bill, click the Delete icon.

    2. When prompted to confirm that you want to continue, click Okay. The bill is permanently deleted.

  4. To delete a paid or adjusted bill, after receiving the response from AHCIP:

    1. Click the bill to edit it.

    2. Click the information icon next to the billing item.

    3. Click the downward arrow next to the Paid transaction and select Resubmit - Delete.

    4. Change the status to Ready To Submit and save the bill. If your Delete claim is accepted by AHCIP, the status of the claim changes to Cancelled. The paid amount is set to zero.

  5. If the bill was refused, and you do not want to resubmit it, you can change the status to Cancelled or Completed (depending on your clinic’s workflow), and save the bill.

Updated June 29, 2022

Did this answer your question?