The TELUS Collaborative Health Record (CHR) uses a variety of appointment statuses—some manual and some automatic—to track a patient's journey through the appointment process. Assigning a status to an appointment enables you to monitor the flow of patient traffic, as well as no-shows and cancellations. 

All of the statuses except Confirmed and None display on the schedule in the appointment description in the top-right. The full text displays if you are in day view, and only the icon displays if you are in week view. In the cases where only the icon appears, hover your cursor over the icon to see a tooltip with the status.

Steps

1. From the schedule, click the appointment to open it and then select the appropriate Status.

2. Click Save.

The following table describes the available statuses:

Status

Description

Requested

A patient requested an appointment online (typically through the e-booking portal), and this appointment was not yet accepted or rejected by staff.


📌 Note: Until the appointment is confirmed no automated reminder is sent.

Confirmation Required

Use to indicate that patients must confirm their appointments as part of the booking process.

Provided the patient has a cell phone or email address listed, as soon as you book the appointment, the patient will receive a message asking them to click a link to confirm their appointment.

Until the patient confirms their appointment, they will not receive any appointment reminders.

📌 Note: After confirming the appointment, the patient will not receive the regular "confirmed appointment" email (since they just manually confirmed it themselves). However, they will see a screen displaying information about their appointment along with a phrase stating the appointment has been confirmed.

Confirmed

This is the default status within the CHR and means that the patient's appointment is confirmed and requires no further action.

If an appointment was booked as Confirmation Required and the patient clicked the link to confirm, the appointment is updated to this status automatically.

📌 Note: Confirmed appointments with incomplete pre-visit Qnaires display the Action Required status.

Action Required

The patient has not yet completed all pre-visit Qnaires associated with the appointment. The status cannot be changed until the Qnaire is completed or unassigned.

Once the patient has completed the Qnaire, the status automatically changes to Confirmed.

📌 Note: If you add and send a reminder while the appointment is in this status, the outstanding pre-visit Qnaires are sent as part of the reminder.

No Show

The patient did not arrive for their scheduled visit. Appointments marked as no show appear in the list of the patient's appointments.

Arrived

Use to track who has arrived for their appointment and is currently in the waiting room.

In Room

Use to track which exam room the patient is in. This allows the provider to see which room to go to next.

After selecting this status, you are prompted to choose a room from the list. For more information, see Creating rooms for patient appointments.

Being Seen

Changing the status to Being Seen prompts you to start an encounter. If you agree, the encounter will be linked with that appointment.

Similarly, if the provider starts an encounter from the chart and links it to the appointment, the appointment status automatically updates to Being Seen.

Visit Completed

Select to manually track when the appointment is complete.

Note Signed

Updates automatically if the encounter was linked to the appointment and the provider signs the encounter, indicating that all documentation for the visit is complete.

The appointment becomes grey in the schedule, as a visual indication it is finished.

Cancelled

Indicates if the appointment was cancelled. The appointment becomes grey in the schedule and the text has a strike-through.

Appointments marked as cancelled appear in the list of the patient's appointments.

📌 Note: Marking an appointment as cancelled is not the same as deleting an appointment. For more information, see Cancelling appointments.

Rejected

The appointment that the patient requested via e-booking was not accepted.

The appointment becomes grey in the schedule and the text has a strike-through.

You are prompted to send a notification to the patient.

Booked

Use if you call patients to confirm their appointments, and want to see an indication of the confirmation in the schedule.

You can also use this status for tentative bookings that are not yet confirmed, such as surgical appointments that need to be confirmed by the hospital.

💡 Tip: If you use this status for tentative bookings and do not want patients to see these appointments, you can hide them. For more information, see Hiding appointment statuses in the patient portal.

Rescheduled

If you book a new appointment for a patient that was rescheduled from another time, you can use this status as a visual indicator that the appointment probably should not be rescheduled again.

This also allows you to see if a patient frequently reschedules, as this status displays in the list of the patient's appointments.

📌 Note: If you book the new appointment and mark the original appointment as Rescheduled (instead of the new appointment), any appointment reminders for the original appointment will still be active and must be deleted.

None

Use to clear any existing appointment status.

Updated April 20, 2022

Did this answer your question?