When a provider or employee leaves your clinic, you must deactivate their TELUS Collaborative Health Record (CHR) user account to prevent unauthorized use. For medico-legal reasons, users cannot be deleted; they are instead deactivated and their history in the CHR remains. You can always reactivate their account if the person returns to your clinic.
📌 Note: You require the Edit Other Users permissions to deactivate a CHR user account. See User permissions.
⚠️ Important: Before deactivating a user, ensure you do the following:
Move any future appointments with this provider to another schedule. Otherwise all appointments will be cancelled and any corresponding Qnaires are removed.
Forward all inbox messages (including snoozed messages) to another user. Otherwise all messages will disappear when the user is deactivated.
Check whether the user's information is used for any lab integrations for the entire account (Settings > Labs > Integrate). If so, you must transfer the integration to another user to ensure continued receipt of lab results; otherwise, no one will receive labs. Before deactivating a user whose information is used for the main lab integration, contact the CHR support team for assistance in transferring the lab integration (see Contact us).
In Ontario, if the user was configured for MDBilling, they are automatically disconnected from MDBilling. The provider or clinic will not receive any new information regarding that provider’s claims that were previously submitted or received.
1. From the main menu, click Settings > Account.
2. Under Users List, find the user to deactivate and click the delete icon.
📌 Note: you cannot deactivate your own user account.
The Member Deactivation window opens, prompting you to cancel or move any pending appointments and Qnaires (recurring and sent) to an existing user.
3. For the deactivated user's apopointments, recurring scheduled Qnaires and sent Qnaires, select Move to another practitioner and choose the new provider.
4. Click Deactivate.
5. When prompted to confirm, click OK, type your account password to confirm and then click Submit.
Once deactivated, the user appears in a list of Deactivated Users at the bottom of the users list.
6. To reactivate the user again, click the lock icon.
Updated March 20, 2022