When you are ready to close an encounter, you need to sign it. Signing the encounter locks its contents so they can't be unintentionally modified.

Until you sign an encounter, data that you recorded in the encounter does not flow into other areas of the patient's chart. For example, vitals are not saved to the Vitals section in the patient summary, prescriptions are not shown in Active Medications, the diagnosis is not added to the Medical History, etc. The encounter does not appear in the Billing chart area or in the Visits dashboard. The encounter must be signed before any service codes added in the encounter are applied to the bill.

📌 Note: Signing an encounter is different from saving; as you enter data during an encounter, your changes are saved every ten seconds. Auto-save, or manually clicking Save, does not interfere with your ability to modify the encounter record, including undoing changes.

Steps

1. At the bottom of the encounter record, click Sign.

2. If a window appears asking if you are sure, review the information on the screen and select to update patient information such as current meds, then click Sign.

📌 Note: If an electronic signature box appears, this means you missed signing a prescription.

⚠️ Important: If an error appears when signing an encounter, see Validation errors for some suggestions to resolve it.

Signing your encounter has the following immediate effects:

  • Unused red or blue bubbles in the history, examination, and assessment sections of the encounter disappear, each one leaving a blank space

  • Medical history items from the encounter are saved to the Patient Data area of the chart

  • Vitals recorded during this encounter are added to the Vitals area of the chart

  • Any diagnosis with an enabled toggle is added to the patient's Medical history (see Recording an encounter diagnosis)

  • Provincial billing codes included in the encounter display in the Insured column of the Visits dashboard

  • Private bills created in the encounter appear the Visits dashboard

  • An Addendum field appears near the bottom of the encounter. You can add notes to the encounter in this field without unlocking the encounter (see Adding an addendum to an encounter)

📌 Note: If you need to unlock the encounter later, see Unlocking an encounter. You can unlock and edit signed encounters only if your user account is set up to do so. If you unlock a signed encounter to edit it, you will have to sign it again.

Updated April 29, 2022

Did this answer your question?