Once you've started a visit, there are several features available to help you navigate, conduct, and finish a virtual visit.

Starting the camera

When you start a visit, the virtual visit opens and the patient's name appears in the panel on the left. By default, both you and the patient are set to use Audio Only.

To turn on the camera, hover your mouse over Audio Only and select Start Cam.

For the patient to start their camera, they must click the video camera icon. For more information, see Attending a virtual visit with your provider (for patients).

💡 Tip: you can configure it so the video will be on by default when you start a visit. For more information, see Configuring virtual visits to start with video turned on.

Muting yourself

If there is background noise on your side while the patient is talking, you can mute your microphone. Hover your mouse over your video thumbnail (or Audio Only if you are not using the video camera) and select Mute.

When you need to speak, hover your mouse over your video thumbnail (or Audio Only if you are not using the camera) and select Unmute.

Maximizing and changing your view of the patient

The virtual visit appears in a thumbnail in the Pathway on the left side of the chart. This allows you to see and speak to the patient while documenting your encounter at the same time. However, you can enlarge this view and move it anywhere on your screen.

Click the maximize icon at the top right of the virtual visit thumbnail.

The thumbnail enlarges and moves to the middle of your screen. Click and drag the thumbnail to move it around your screen. To make the image full screen, click the maximize icon again. You can manually resize the thumbnail by clicking and dragging on the sides, top, or bottom.

Click the x to move the thumbnail back into the Pathway on the left side of the chart.

Ending a visit

To end the visit, click the icon to hang up at the bottom of the window.

A message appears that the call has been ended. Click Okay.

The patient sees a message that the video chat has ended because all participants have left the visit. However, the virtual visit remains open so they can see any chat messages sent and received, and complete any tasks assigned. Once the patient is finished, they should close the window. For more information, see Attending a virtual visit with your provider (for patients).

Updating the phase of the visit

At this point, you should change the Phase from Visit to Post Visit and then to Complete, to remove the appointment card from the Pathway.

Updated July 20, 2021

Did this answer your question?