If you have Pathways set up, you can track and move pathway cards through the various phases of care, or pathways, within your clinic workflow. You can view pathway cards within each phase to see and track any actions that need to be performed. For more information see, Viewing pathways.

From within the pathway card, you can assign actions, or tasks for the patient or staff to perform. Assigned patient actions are performed directly in the virtual visit appointment. The Chat staff action is also performed directly in the virtual visit. All other staff actions act as a reminder to complete a task. When you click on the action that part of the patient chart opens. You cannot perform the action from within the pathway card. For example, the Prescription staff action opens the prescription section of the patient chart, from there the provider must create the prescription as they normally do.

Steps

  1. From your pathway board, click on the pathway card you would like to open. The patient chart for that pathway card opens.

    📌 Note: Alternatively, from the main menu, search for and open the patient chart.

  2. In the left pane of the patient chart, you see active pathway cards for the patient. Click the card to expand it and see more information.

    💡 Tip: Click the X at the top-right to close the current pathway card and to view or open another one.

  3. Review the following information in the pathway card and perform the corresponding action(s):

Field

Description

Appointment details

Shows the appointment type and time. Virtual visits are highlighted in green.

💡 Tip: Appears only if the pathway card was added with an appointment.

Click Scheduler to quickly open the appointment in the schedule.

Phase

The Pathways phase, or column in the kanban-style board, the pathway card is currently in e.g Pre Visit or Visit.

To move the patient to a different phase, select the phase from the list.

📌 Notes:

  • If you have validations configured, and you do not complete all required tasks you will receive a warning and will not be able to move to the next Phase until the tasks are removed or completed. See Configuring transitions for your pathways.

  • Depending on your settings, some actions will automatically happen when transitioning to the next phase. For example, tags could be applied and the appointment status could change. See Configuring transitions for your pathways.

Room

Displays only for a pathway card that was added with an appointment and is a physical visit. To move the pathway card to a Room, select a room from the list. You must first have rooms configured (see Configuring rooms for physical pathways)

Virtual Visit

See if the patient has signed into the virtual visit. If required, click to Resend the invitation (including the access code). Or, click Start Video Chat.

For more information, see Conducting and ending a Pathways virtual visit.

Chat

Start a live text-based chat with the patient over the CHR secure chat. You can do this before or after the patient has signed in; they will see the entire chat history.

Tip: The chat history is saved to the patient's chart. You can access it by selecting Start/Open > Pathway History.

For more information, see Sending and receiving chat messages for a virtual visit.

Staff Tasks

Any assigned staff tasks are displayed here. Click the blue text to the right of the Staff Tasks to quickly open that area of the CHR.

Click + Assign tasks to assign a new staff task. For more information, see Assigning tasks and tags to a virtual visit.

Click the grey checkmark to indicate that you have completed the task. Once clicked it turns green (completed). Click the x to remove the task.

Assigned Patient Tasks

Any assigned patient tasks are displayed here (such as Qnaires or reading a handout). Once completed, the grey checkmark automatically turns green (completed).

Click + Assign tasks to assign a new patient task. For more information, see Assigning tasks and tags to a virtual visit.

If the task cannot be completed, click the x to the right of the task to remove it.

Assigned Tags

Any assigned pathway tags are displayed here and act as visual cues. You can use tags to highlight important characteristics related to your patient and the specific visit. For example, Balance Owing.

Click + Assign tags to add a tag.

For more information, see Assigning tasks and tags to a virtual visit.

4. To remove the pathway card from pathways, select a transition with an action of Complete current visit, such as Cancel Visit or Complete Visit.

Note: Once you remove a pathway card from pathways, you cannot move it back. If you remove a pathway card from pathways by mistake, you must start a new pathway card. For more information, see Adding a patient without an appointment.

Pathways workflow example for a virtual visit

The virtual visit is booked in advance, 15 minutes before the appointment time the appointment is automatically moved to the Pre Visit phase in pathways. Staff can view and prepare for the upcoming appointment. Five minutes before the appointment time the patient receives the invite and logs into the virtual visit. The patient then completes any assigned tasks, such as reading a handout or completing any incomplete pre visit Qnaires that were attached to their appointment type. Staff can see that the patient has completed all the required tasks and uses the chat to let them know the provider will be with them shortly. Staff then moves the pathway card to the Visit phase and completes any assigned staff tasks, such as starting the encounter note. The provider sees that all patient and staff actions are completed. When ready the provider conducts the virtual visit with the patient. Once completed, the provider moves the pathway card to the Post Visit phase. Staff or the provider then completes any staff tasks in the Post Visit phase, such as creating or faxing a prescription. Staff then uses the Complete Visit transition to finish the visit and remove the appointment card from pathways.

Updated June 21, 2022

Did this answer your question?